Should I go to Nepal?

The guy pedaling me to the India-Nepal border must be about seventy years old. I’m still not sure whther they’ll let me cross into Nepal. The Himalayan foothill silhouette is magnificent and I’m intimidated by what lays beyond. I talk to the border inspector, who is young and in plain clothes, about the World Cup and he gives a big smile, opens up today’s newspaper and tells me that Argentina won against some team and some team won against Nigeria. After that, it’s all questions. I didn’t expect what came next, although the LIU inspector in Nainital had told me the same thing. I thank the border inspector and ask the rickshaw peddler to take me back to Banbasa. I’m not going to Nepal today.

Back in Banbasa I have tea and catch a bus to Haldwani where we drive through a river, which has risen, and the bus is flooded temporarily. The next direct bus to Uttarkashi is, I’m told, at 5:30am tomorrow so I walk around looking for a room for Rs. 200. I begin to get tired and a bit grumpy at too many expensive hotels that I just walk into an office building and ask a group of employees where I can find dormitory accomidation. One of the guys, dressed in a surprising clean white shirt say ‘this is an office building.’ ‘I know, but you or you or you or you or you might know where I can find a place to sleep tonight,’ I say pointing at each office worker in the room. ‘Dharamsala,’ one guy says and gives me directions. To make a long story half as long, I end up booking a Spartan but large room athe Ashok Hotel across from the Hindi dharmsala off of Rumpur Road behind Standard Sweets for Rs. 200.

When the boarder inspector had informed me that the date on my registration papers determines how long I can stay in India rather than the date on my visa, I was presented with an option. Time and effort were on my mind, effort being the action resulting from motivation divided by time. Time.

3 Responses to “Should I go to Nepal?”

  1. Bridget Finnegan Says:

    How much time do you have? Can you get new registration papers without getting more frustrated? Follow your heart!

    • paulsclevenger Says:

      I had no problem getting into Nepal and my frustrations only help me to build more patience, so I welcome The Frustrating.

  2. Gary Smith Says:

    Hello Paul, I was just talking to your friend Dan with some Polish last name I can never remember but it starts with Po, anyway he was telling me about you and I said, “Hey, I know that guy. He used to be my neighbor on Clinton and Market.” Whatever, I just came back from Kathmandu on June 15. By all means go there. You will love it. Go to the Om Tara Guest House in Thamel. Tell them you know me. You will get a room (with a shared bath iif you want) for from, I think, 250 rupees on up. There are about 74 rupees to the dollar. If you have any questions just ask. I’m full of information. Believe you you will really like the place. It doesn’t have all the hassles that India has and it is much more set up for tourists.

Leave a Reply

